Braised Short Ribs

Braised short ribs was one of those dishes that I used to order all the time at fancy restaurants. I had somehow decided that they must be difficult to make because they were so expensive. Turns out they just take time…

I decided one day to figure out how to make them at home.  I printed out a bunch of recipes and stared at them all. They all had a ton of ingredients and looked overly complicated. I decided to use a shortcut by using store-bought marinara sauce. I figured it had tomatoes, basil, and other good stuff, so why not?  I’ve made it a few times, always to rave reviews.  I’ve frozen individual portions for quick dinners.  (If you plan to do this, make sure that you don’t start with frozen meat.) In fact, I rarely cook meat from frozen, unless it’s something that I’ve made ahead as a freezer-meal. I am a fan of using boneless short ribs for this. My son licks the plate when I make these, and they are one of his favorite recipes.

I get so many requests for this recipe and I hadn’t really ever written it down before now.  I’m actually embarrassed at how easy this recipe is.  So here goes…  I dare you to serve this to guests and then tell them the ingredients.

Hint: Make these one day before you want to serve them.  They are so much better the day after they are cooked.

Braised Short Ribs

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F.  Heat the oil in a large dutch oven on the stove on medium heat.  Add the beef short ribs and cook until browned. Flip them over and keep cooking until they’re browned on all sides.

 

Add the salt, pepper, and garlic cloves and cook for about a minute.  Don’t let the garlic burn.  Pour in just enough of the marinara sauce to cover the short ribs.  Cover and move the dutch oven into the oven and cook at 350F for 30 mins.  Reduce the heat to 200F.  Flip the short ribs over and cook for 1 hour. Turn the short ribs over again and cook for another hour. Repeat until the short ribs have been cooking a total of 3-4 hours.  When they start to fall apart when you flip them, you can turn off the oven and leave them in for about 30 mins.  Remove from the oven and allow to cool to room temperature. Refrigerate in the dutch oven overnight.

The next day, preheat the oven to 300F.  Return the short ribs to the oven and cook for 30-45 minutes until completely heated through.  Serve with mashed cauliflower and other low-carb veggies.  I need to upload a photo of the finished product when I make these next time.

17098288_10210718984483532_1000730606538655401_n

6 thoughts on “Braised Short Ribs

    • I made these for a dinner party over the holiday break. It was the lowest stress party I’ve hosted in a long time. I basically had to toss the salad when the guests arrived and that was it. I did serve them with mashed potatoes, but any good mashed cauliflower recipe would keep this nice and low carb. Suggest serving with green beans as well. This is one of my favorite green bean recipes… https://www.pinterest.com/pin/269160515201006805/

      Like

Leave a Reply

