Simple Roasted Spaghetti Squash

If you’d had spaghetti squash and didn’t like it, chances are it wasn’t roasted.  Like Brussels sprouts, this is a vegetable that reaches new heights when roasted. Use this with marinara sauce or, better yet, my Cheater Bolognese Sauce that I posted a few weeks back.  It’s delicious and so, so easy.

Simple Roasted Spaghetti Squash

  • Servings: 4
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • Cooking spray (optional)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400F and grab a roasting pan. Spray the roasting pan with cooking spray (optional).

Place the spaghetti squash on the roasting pan and put it in the oven.  That’s right. Just put it there. No cutting or venting necessary. As it cooks, check it every 30 minutes or so and turn it slightly to make sure that it doesn’t burn. After 1 hour, poke it with a knife so check if it’s done. If the knife goes in easily, it’s finished. The exact cooking time will depend on the size of the squash that you started with. I normally cook mine between 60 and 90 minutes.

Remove the squash from the oven and allow to cool.

Once the squash is cool enough to handle, cut it in half and run a fork inside to scoop the spaghetti-like strands into a large bowl. Serve immediately or store in an airtight container until you are ready to use. If I freeze this, I tend to cover it with sauce before freezing.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Simple Roasted Spaghetti Squash

  1. It’s great to know I can freeze this, as I am the only one that likes spaghetti squash in my family. I end up rarely making it because I can never eat it all by myself, thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

