Kale Salad with Apples and Blackberries

Meet my new favorite salad. I only recently ventured into the land of kale salad. Until then, I’ve seen it stacked up on salad bars, looking dry and unappetizing. And while I wasn’t afraid of kale, I just never really went out of my way to order it or make it myself. I’d heard of “massaging your kale,” but it sounded like something that I should do after my yoga class before meditating (I don’t do either).

In short, I didn’t realize how easy it was until my sister-in-law Krista showed me a few weeks ago. I had to tweak the recipe she showed me, of course.  Oh, one thing to note: don’t mess with the dressing. The end product is a fine balance of sweet and tart, and that makes the final salad just perfect.

Kale Salad with Apples and Blackberries

  • Servings: 4
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch green kale, stemmed removed and sliced into thin strips
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrot (about 1 medium)
  • 1/2 cup chopped flat leaf parsley (don’t use the curly kind)
  • 1 Gala or Fuji apple, chopped into bite-sized pieces
  • 1/2 cup pomegranate arils (Trader Joe’s sells them in a small package in the produce section)
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped into bited-sized pieces
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • Juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 pint blackberries

Directions:

Grab a large bowl, knife, cutting board, and your salad spinner. Remove the stems from the kale, roll each leaf, and chop. Massage the kale with salt until it lets out liquid, about one minute. Rinse and dry in the salad spinner. Rinse the bowl and place kale back in it. (You can also watch the attached video to see how to chop and massage the kale.)  Continue to assemble the salad by adding carrot, parsley, apple, pomegranate, and onion. Add the olive oil, cider vinegar, lemon juice, and salt and pepper. Stir and taste, then adjust seasonings to your liking. This salad will store nicely for 1-2 days in the fridge. Add blackberries right before serving.

img_1221

https://youtu.be/kcZFZPofWTo

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

